Please login or register.
Username:
Password:


HOME
FORUM
DOWNLOADS
CHAT


onfocus="this.value = '';" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='Search...';" />
   Current Time: November 17, 2017, 09:32:04 PM   News: new download sections: DS and PSP!
onfocus="this.value = '';" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='Search...';" />       


Author Topic: SDML and Swiss  (Read 2387 times)

lombaxu

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
SDML and Swiss
« on: April 22, 2013, 07:20:24 PM »
I have a Xeno chipped GCN, but it never played burned games. I kinda think the chips were fakes... ANYWAYS, I got a SDML and have the swiss.dol on my SD card, but when I click on it, I just get a black screen forever.

What do? I've been reading guides for the last couple hours, but can't figure out what to do differently.

RedPhoenix

  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Rep: 21
  • Informático - Gamer
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 08:28:32 PM »
Maybe your SD card is not compatible.. I have a problem some like that...


 

PSX SCPH-7501 PSone SCPH-101 | PS2 SCPH-39001 XBOX C01713 Dreamcast HKT-3020 GameCube DOL-101 GB DMG-01 GBA AGB-001 | PS3 CECHK11 XBOX 360 S 1439 PSP 3001 NDS NTR-001

torturelabs

  • *
  • Posts: 2943
  • Rep: 72
  • I'm into autoerotic-asphyxiation, how about you?
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2013, 08:47:34 PM »
I have a Xeno chipped GCN, but it never played burned games. I kinda think the chips were fakes... ANYWAYS, I got a SDML and have the swiss.dol on my SD card, but when I click on it, I just get a black screen forever.

What do? I've been reading guides for the last couple hours, but can't figure out what to do differently.
Does it go blank when you boot the .ISO or during the .dol execution?
Best guess would be the SDcard you're using.
It must be SD not SDHC and must not be over 2GB in size or you'll encounter compatibility issues.
SD Media Launcher - Starter Pack!

Apart from that, the possible reason your Xeno wouldn't read the disks was because your laser pot wasn't adjusted properly to read the backups.
[GC] Laser POT adjustment by torturelabs


lombaxu

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2013, 09:01:42 PM »
the screen goes black after i hit A on the swiss.dol

I have already tried my darndest to get the POT to work, but to no avail.

I'm gonna order a real card and hope for the best.

If all else fails, I can always cry myself to sleep for the rest of my life.

Also, I took the non-working xeno out just now, but that didnt change anything either.

torturelabs

  • *
  • Posts: 2943
  • Rep: 72
  • I'm into autoerotic-asphyxiation, how about you?
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2013, 10:38:06 PM »


lombaxu

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2013, 01:08:51 PM »
instead of trying to use the microsd card in an adpater, I ordered a 2gb SD card from amazon

torturelabs

  • *
  • Posts: 2943
  • Rep: 72
  • I'm into autoerotic-asphyxiation, how about you?
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2013, 07:35:23 PM »
instead of trying to use the microsd card in an adpater, I ordered a 2gb SD card from amazon
Ah I see, yeah that's most likely the issue.
Make sure it's 2GB non HC, good luck!


lombaxu

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2013, 11:11:23 PM »
OK, so I got it working, but do have a few questions. I thought swiss was supposed to be able to play shrunk iso's? I get a fragmented file message for every game EXCEPT for animal crosssing...

Also, be it known that you'll receive an error if you have a ethernet cable plugged into your bba. Unplug the cable to be able to use swiss. Once the game loads, you can replug in the cable

torturelabs

  • *
  • Posts: 2943
  • Rep: 72
  • I'm into autoerotic-asphyxiation, how about you?
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2013, 12:12:04 AM »
Can you take a photo so I can better asses the issue?

Swiss is able to load shrunken .ISO's, in other words .GCM files.
Some games only shrink about 100MB some allot more, but yes, they 'should' work.

Note, that apart from card issues, there is a lack of compatibility in SWISS
This is key to remember when going the SWISS route instead of GCoS
Luigi's Mansion being one game that's currently unplayable via SWISS.

So, yeah back to the top^


lombaxu

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2013, 07:20:03 AM »
I learned more through messing last night. On the non-HC card, I can run a shrunk file, while on the Kingston 4gb file, I cannot. Eventually I plan on getting a Sandisk 32gb, so I'll let you guys know if it was a brand issue, or if it was just the way HC works compared to normal SD cards.

I'll also take a video here eventually to show you my findings.

Swiss issues
« Last Edit: April 24, 2013, 08:07:53 AM by lombaxu »

torturelabs

  • *
  • Posts: 2943
  • Rep: 72
  • I'm into autoerotic-asphyxiation, how about you?
    • View Profile
Re: SDML and Swiss
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2013, 08:33:14 PM »
Yeah, same issue I had.
I first had a 4GB SDHC and it would load everything fine except SWISS
I decided to get a 2GB non-HC once people started verifying that there were in fact compatibility issues with larger cards.
Even CodeJunkies says this:
Quote
Works with SD cards of up to 4GB in size.
Take note that the SDML is older, meaning this was back when 4GB non-HC still existed.


Tags: